The Five W’s of Disney Infinity 3.0


A feature we do here at Geek Family Media is the Five W’s. The Five W’s are where we answer 5 key questions to inform gamers about upcoming releases. Today’s game is Disney Infinity 3.0.


  • Title: Disney Infinity 3.0
  • Developer: Avalanche Software (With Various others)
  • Publisher: Disney Interactive
  • Release: August 30th, 2015
  • Platforms: Xbox 360, Xbox One, Playstation 3, Playstation 4, Nintendo Wii U, PC, iOS, Android


What is it?

Disney Infinity is a Toys-to-Life platform that launched in 2013. The game included a base (USB device) in which you can place real life characters from the Disney Universe and then have them appear in the video game. In 2014, Disney Infinity 2.0 launched with upgraded gameplay and Marvel branded characters. Now, in 2015, Disney Infinity 3.0 is launching with even more updates and the inclusion of characters from the Star Wars universe.The basics of the game is that it is a 1-2 player, action platformer. The game is broken up into two main gameplay modes. First is Story Mode, where you can play through mission based story sets based on popular Disney owned properties, in the case of 3.0, it’s Star Wars. Second is Toy Box Mode, which is an open world creator where you can mix and match and play anyway that you’d like.  


Why should I care?

Disney Infinity 3.0 has the potential to be one of the coolest Star Wars games to be released in a long time. The game launches with a playset called “Twilight of the Republic” and includes Anakin Skywalker and Ashoka Tano from Star Wars The Clone Wars. In Twilight, you play various missions based around the Prequel time frame of the saga, teaming up with Obi Wan and Yoda and fighting against the likes of Cad Bane and Darth Maul. There will also be an additional playset available to buy separately called Rise of the Empire. Rise includes Luke Skywalker and Leia Organa and puts you in various missions set around the original trilogy. Outside of Star Wars there will also be an InsideOut playset that includes Joy and Anger. Not to mention, they have announced a Marvel 4-Player Playset coming soon along with Toy Box Speedway, which is basically Infinity Kart, and figures from Star Wars Rebels. And all of that can be used together in the Toy Box mode which also has so much content included it could probably be sold as a separate game.

Who is if For?

The game is rated E10 for Cartoon Violence. The game is built on the premise that you are playing with Toys, so the violence amounts to toys fighting and when a toy “dies” or is destroyed, they just break into a few pieces as a toy properly would. I have a 6 and 9 year old gamer who have loved both Disney Infinity and 2.0. They are both super pumped for 3.0. And the games are so accessible they have never had an issue play them. I will point out, at their age, they don’t mess around in the Toy Box Creation mode very much because that can be overly complicated, but having the ability download community Toy Boxes allows them to fully enjoy the Toy Box mode even without creating themselves.


When is it out and Where can I buy it?

The game launches on August 30th, 2015 for Xbox One, Xbox 360, Playstation 3, Playstation 4, and Wii U. There will be a PC and Mobile version of the game, but those don’t currently have release dates and if history is our guide they will launch post release of the console experience.  The game will also be available in several options. You can elect to purchase a bundle which will include everything that you need to play: Disc, Base, Playset and Characters. It also includes Web codes to unlock the included content on PC and for pre-ordering you can get Toy Box Takeover Toy Box Game for free (A $20 value). There is also a Saga Bundle that is Playstation 4/3 Exclusive and it includes both Star Wars playsets (Twilight and Rise) as well as Boba Fett who is not being sold separately at this time.

Now, if you already own an Infinity Base, you have the option of buying the game, either at retail or digitally, and then buying each of the playsets separately. However, it is worth noting, on the Xbox Platform that digital version of the game will be $10 more than on Playstation and Wii U. I wrote a full article about how that works and you can read about that HERE.


In conclusion, Disney Infinity has proven to get better each year that it’s been released. And all early indication is that 3.0 will be the best so far. From flying a Death Star run to Dueling Darth Maul to invading your emotions in InsideOut to finishing 1st place on Toy Box Speedway, there is something for everyone inside Disney Infinity 3.0. Starting next Monday on Geek Family Media, we will be doing Impressions, Let’s Plays, and eventually a Full Review of the game so stay tuned.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.